Our People...

We are fortunate to have the support of a dedicated committee, made up of individuals and representatives from our key supporters.

2020 Nov Matahuru Marae 1.jpg

Waikato RiverCare Executive Committee 2020

Front Row: Peter, Sarah, Elyse, Sally, Michelle, David, Nigel

Back Row: Wally, Kevin, Kathryn, Nathaniel, Dawn, Simon (and Tawera Nikau from Matahuru Marae)

Absent: Larnie and Ben

The support of volunteers on planting days and with hands-on weed control is invaluable. Our volunteers help us in the process of protecting the natural asset of the River, and gain a sense of achievement in assisting with real progress. 



Executive Committee

Michelle Archer (Chairperson) - Individual

Dawn Metcalfe (Deputy Chairperson) - Individual

David Klee  - Auckland/Waikato Fish & Game

Simon Hill (Treasurer) - Mercury

Larnie Chrystall - Mercury

​Glen Tupuhi - Nga Muka Development Trust

Peter Buckley - North Waikato Federated Farmers

Nathaniel Wilson - Watercare Services Ltd

Nigel Binks - Department of Conservation

Elyse LaFace - Genesis Energy

Sarah Lealand  - Waikato Regional Council

Ben Wolf  Waikato District Council


General Members

Taroi Rawiri - Waikato Tainui

Hori Awa - Waahi Whaanui Trust

​Peter Buckley - Waikato Farmer

Advisory Members

​Don Scarlet - Mercury



Kevin Hutchinson (Operations Manager) - Employee

Sally McCarthy  (Administrator/Secretary) - Employee


Our supporters, project partners, land owners and clients came together to celebrate our 20 years of preparing, planting and maintaining areas of native plant habitat on the banks of the lower Waikato River and associated catchments.



Former and Current Chairpersons

Norm Hill, Phil Teal, Dawn Metcalfe, David Klee & Michelle Archer


Michelle Archer & Dawn Metcalfe